May 29, 2024

Nominations to open for new RSU 19 board

Any resident of the eight towns of Regional School Unit 19 may pick up nomination papers starting Wednesday to serve on the board of directors. The papers are available at the town offices of Newport, Corinna, Hartland, St. Albans, Palmyra, Plymouth, Etna and Dixmont, or at the superintendents’ offices for SAD 38 and SAD 48.

Papers must be returned to the SAD 48 superintendent’s office in Newport by Friday, Dec. 12.

Elections in all towns will be held by secret ballot Wednesday, Jan. 28, at each town’s regular polling place. The new consolidation laws require this procedure to be followed for the election of the initial terms of the RSU 19 board. After the election, each town will elect its board members by its usual method.

The consolidation plan for RSU 19 requires that each town have a minimum of two board members, and depending on the population, up to four members. Newport will have four members, Corinna will have three, and the remaining towns will have two members each.

Board members also will use weighted votes to conform with the “one person, one vote” legal requirement.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like