May 20, 2024

Passamaquoddy hold council elections

PLEASANT POINT – Two new members have been elected to the Passamaquoddy tribal council here after weeks of uncertainty as to who would help lead the government.

Ralph Dana and Denise Altvater were elected last week with 158 and 141 votes respectively. They replace Councilors Dottie Barnes and Fred Francis who resigned in October.

Neither Barnes nor Francis gave reasons for their resignations, but tribal Councilor Eddie Bassett said at the time that the two had stepped down for “personal reasons.”

Four other people – Hilda Lewis, Plansowes Dana, Viola Francis and Keith Moore – also ran for the two open seats on the tribal council.

Lewis garnered 90 votes, Dana 78, Francis 43 and Moore 30.

Tribal government consists of six councilors, a lieutenant governor and governor.

Tribal Lt. Gov. Thomas Lewey remains on the job even though there were reports early on that he had planned to resign. Gov. Rick Phillips-Doyle, who had been on medical leave, also is back on the job.

There also were reports in October that two remaining councilors, Eddie Bassett and newly elected Fred “Moose” Moore, were about to be recalled, which both men denied at the time and which did not happen.

Two other councilors, Christine Downing and Darren Paul, also remain on the council.


Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like