September 18, 2020

Forwards are stars of the East Cony guard earns Osborne Award

Forwards, forwards and more forwards were the voters’ favorites for the 1995 Bangor Daily News’ Eastern Maine Class A All-Tournament girls basketball team.

Seven front-court players were included among the first team and honorable mentions selected by members of the media and tournament officials.

The first team includes Kelly Bowman, Nokomis’s 5-foot-10 senior forward-center, Katie Clark of Bangor, Cony’s Erica Pridham, and Caribou’s Erin Cole-Karagory.

Despite the voters’ love affair with forwards, Cony junior guard Amy Vachon will receive the Owen Osborne Award for her nearly unanimous selection as the tournament’s most valuable player.

Vachon, who will lead her undefeated team into the state final against Westbrook’s 18-3 Blue Blazes at 7:07 p.m. Saturday at the Bangor Auditorium, averaged 21 points per tournament game. She topped the 1,000-point career mark last Saturday during Cony’s 72-42 victory over third-ranked Nokomis.

This is Vachon’s third straight year on the NEWS’ Class A All-Tournament team.

Bowman, who was named the Big East’s player of the year Saturday, landed squarely on the first team for the second time with a nearly unanimous vote. She averaged 17.2 points per tournament game.

Clark, Bangor’s workhorse down the tournament stretch, averaged 24.5 points in her two postseason games. She made the list for the first time. The 6-foot junior joins Pridham and fellow Big East all-star Cole-Karagory, who are also first-timers on the NEWS’ list.

Cole-Karagory averaged 16 points for her team’s two tournament appearances, yanking down 10 rebounds in the first matchup against fourth-ranked Presque Isle. Cony’s forward Pridham averaged 13.7 points per playoff game.

Presque Isle’s sophomore forward Kim Condon, an honorable mention on the NEWS’ all-tourney team, was omitted from the list of Big East All-Conference members in Monday’s editions.



Class A

Name School Pos. Yr.

Amy Vachon (MVP) Cony Guard Jr.

Kelly Bowman Nokomis Forward Sr.

Katie Clark Bangor Forward Jr.

Erin Cole-Karagory Caribou Forward Jr.

Erica Pridham Cony Forward Jr.

Honorable Mention:Katie Nye, Nokomis, G, Soph.; Brynn Clough, Brewer, F, Sr.; Kim Condon, Presque Isle, F-G, Soph.; Christine Huber, Cony, F, Jr.

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like