February 04, 2023

Deane takes checkered flag, class championship

HERMON – Ryan Deane of Winterport put an exclamation point on his 2003 limited sportsman division championship season with a win in the class’s qualifying heat and feature race at Speedway 95.

Deane outraced runner-up and rookie of the year candidate Rodney Brooks of Thomaston, third-place finisher Greg Morse of St. Albans, Joey Doyon of Winterport, and Tim Reynolds of Milford.

The night was not without controversy as the super streets division saw some drama after Hermon’s Alex Shaw was black-flagged by the flagman for rough riding. The action was overridden by the track’s race director, however, and that action allowed Shaw to win the super streets season title over race winner Steve Moulton of Glenburn.


Super streets: 1. Steve Moulton (Glenburn), 2. Keith Pierce (Hudson), 3. Ross Robinson (Frankfort), 4. Andy Leali (Frankfort), 5. Alex Shaw (Hermon)

Strictly streets: 1. Eric Worster (Lee), 2. Andy Migliore (Pittsfield), 3. Cliff Knight (Frankfort), 4. Mike Lynch (Winterport), 5. Don Steeves (Milford)

Sport fours: 1. Barry Elston (Carmel), 2. Colin Arey II (Greenville), 3. Chad Ashley (Frankfort), 4. Colin Arey (Greenville), 5. Jason Dorr (Milford)

Unity Raceway

At Unity, Norridgewock’s Scott Albee dove under Mike Thomas of Etna and pulled away in the final 15 laps to win the Maine State Lottery Pro Stock at Unity Raceway.

Other Unity Results

Pro Stock: 1. Scott Albee (Norridgewock), 2. Matt Lee (Albion), 3. Mike Thomas (Etna), 4. Judd Derbyshire (Mt. Vernon), 5. Robert Green (Benton)

Super Sportsman: 1. Joe Ritchey (Fairfield), 2. Chris Thorne (Sidney), 3. Mike Hodgkins (Jefferson), 4. Matt Eaton (Deer Isle), 5. Ricky Burgess (Oakland)

Pro Four: 1. J.R. Gray (Orrington), 2. Paul Shorette (Winslow), 3. Brent Chase (Canaan), 4. David Boyce (Waterville), 5. Joe Allaard (Glenburn)

Street Stock: 1. Skip Connor (Oakland), 2. Steve Rackliff (Starks), 3. Dan Trask (Chelsea), 4. R.J. Austin (Norridgewock), 5. Michael Landry (Oakland)

Mini Stock: 1. Chris Letourneau (Freedom), 2. Kevin Douglas (Sidney), 3. Dan Somes (Sidney), 4. Seth Wills (Rome), 5. Bob Studley, Jr. (Sidney)

Mini Truck: 1. Bill Winter (Sidney), 2. Darren Doucette (Sidney), 3. Mike Rackliff (Starks), 4. Wayne McCaslin (Winslow), 5. Shadow Folsom (Skowhegan)

Winterport Dragway

At Winterport, Dan Emerson of Hermon held off Rick Wiseman of Blue Hill to win the Super Pro/Pro Final.


Super Pro/Pro: 1. Dan Emerson (Hermon), 2. Rick Wiseman (Blue Hill); Super Pro Eliminator: 1. Dan Emerson (Hermon), 2. Barney Ryan (Harmony); Pro Eliminator: 1. Rick Wiseman (Blue Hill), 2. David Kecki (Lincoln); Bikes/Sleds Eliminator: 1. Ryan Mason (Hancock), 2. Jon Weeks (Waterville); Pro Street/Street Eliminator: 1. Mike Reynolds (Winterport), 2. Dale Hustus, Jr. (Searsport); Pro Street Eliminator: 1. Mike Reynolds (Winterport), 2. Tom Lopez (Corinth); Street Eliminator: 1. Dale Hustus, Jr. (Searsport), 2. Rick Wiseman (Blue Hill); Street Trophy: 1. Bob Reynolds (Winterport), 2. Bill Dammier (Deer Isle); Saturday Night Street Race: 1. Willie Larrabee (Stockton Springs), 2. Mike Reynolds (Bangor); Saturday Street Trophy Race: 1. Ben Bradeed (Bradley), 2. David Moore (Swanville)

Have feedback? Want to know more? Send us ideas for follow-up stories.

comments for this post are closed

You may also like